Tuffs and Midnight Sun

by mbrede

 

Well I clearly am a horrible blogger. I can’t even remember the last time I have updated this. So I really don’t even know where to begin. Any way, the winter came and seemingly out of no where. Along with the winter came the darkness. There was a three week period where I barely saw any sunlight. Go to work in the dark, come home in the dark. It may sound odd but there is something adventurous about spending so much time in the dark. I felt like I took a step back in time which probably sounds crazy too.

Winter at Bean’s was non stop busy. From epic holiday donations to seeing numbers in the shelter rise day to day challenged me in ways I never thought. But every day I came home knowing I was part of something very important and that is a feeling that stays with you much longer than exhaustion after a long day of work.

The weather is starting to look somewhat promising in Anchorage. We are three inches away from breaking the snow record. We have gotten somewhere around 130 inches so far and I want desperately to break the record. However the snow should be melting soon and I am well equipped with a new pair of xtratuffs.

The sun now doesn’t set till about 8pm. It is amazing. Times like this is when I truly love Alaska. So much that I plan on staying here next year. Alaska is by no means a one and done for me. I need more Alaska and I need it now.

 

Peace